AudioREVIEW's Forum Archives - Rave Recordings


Archive Home >> Rave Recordings(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ) >> Just curious...(19 posts)


Just curious...2 channel
Jun 28, 2001 8:01 AM
What kind of gear do you guys use for music listening? I'm a vintage guy myself, I have several recievers including a Kenwood KR7600 (My favorite), and a few Pioneer SX models. I have a Pioneer Turntable and a few different CD players including an Aiwa 100 cd juke box and a suprisingly musical Sanyo (about 12 years old) and I am a diehard Klipsch fan!

How about the rest of you guys??
re: Just curious...francesc
Jun 28, 2001 8:41 AM
Rega Planar 3 TT with Grado Prestige Gold cart.
Exposure Super XV integrated.
Rogers Studio 3 monitors.
Arcam Delta 270 CDP. Got it new (altough it's old stock) a couple of months ago. It's my fourth player (including a player & DAC combo) in four years. While I'm perfectly happy with the rest of my system, finding the right CD player (at a price) seems to be an impossible thing to me. I'll keep trying...

As I do a lot of listening at night, I also use a Creek OBH11SE headphone amp and Sennheiser HD580 'phones. Excellent combination.
that makes two of usJim Clark
Jun 28, 2001 10:45 AM
After a prolonged and careful audition 8 years ago, I settled on a pair of Klipsch KG 4.2's. I considered the 5.2's but didn't care or the built in 'subwoofer' on the back side of the speaks. I've yet to find anything that made me regret my choice. I've even wanted to upgrade, just can't. I will build the AR DIY's this year, the cabinets are already on order, but that will probably be just for fun.

Balance of system:
KSW-12 sub
Denon 3300
Pioneer DV 525-modified
Crapo brand TT
Onkyo DX7211 CDP

Vive Le Rock
Jim Clark
I knew there was something I liked about you. (nt)2 channel
Jun 28, 2001 11:37 AM
nt
re: Just curious...maf
Jun 28, 2001 11:03 AM
Home

TT: VPI 19 Mk. IV / JMW / Lyra Helikon / Sonic Frontiers Phono 1
CD: Pioneer Elite 300 CD changer / SCE Harmonic Recovery System
Pre: Audio Research LS 15
Amp: Pass Aleph 5
Speakers: Dunlavy SC2 / REL Storm

Work

Kloss Model 88 table radio
JVC 5-disc changer

NP: Janis Ian - Breaking Silence
and you use a cassette deck with that setup??RPM
Jun 28, 2001 8:24 PM
Dang maf, that's a sweet home rig. I guess when I hear that someone is still recording on cassette, I visualize a Realistic reciever and a pair of Cerwin Vega's going along with it.:-)
Only on very special occasions...maf
Jun 29, 2001 7:46 AM
...and for the special few.

Actually, my new Pioneer CDR should be arriving in a few days, so I'll soon be in the comp-trading biz for real. NO MORE CASSETTES.

Mark
NP: Dismemberment Plan - Emergency & I
excellent decision!RPM
Jun 29, 2001 10:19 AM
I don't think you'll regret it. I only play casstettes in my car now and that's because I haven't found an aftermarket car front end unit that plays BOTH cassette and CD.
Spend lots of quality time with your family and friends now because they won't be seeing much of you (except maybe your back) after you get your burner. So, have you given any thought to your first comp? I'm sure I'll be on the mailing list right?? ;-)

have fun! Rick
Now don't you worrymaf
Jun 29, 2001 11:19 AM
I'll hook you up. My first...how 'bout polka greats, headlined by the Schmenge Brothers. I'm thinking of calling it "Cabbage Rolls & Coffee", What d'ya think?

Mark
NP: Freak Power - Drive Thru Booty
Polka greats huh?2 channel
Jun 29, 2001 12:05 PM
Are you from PA? I am, lemme tell ya, it's the Polka Capitol of the world!!
Not from PA - just watched alot of SCTV (nt)maf
Jun 29, 2001 12:18 PM
Il n'y a pas de texte ici!
I think you should supply some Beano with it! (nt)RPM
Jun 29, 2001 7:12 PM
re: I'm no audiophile...Ms. Nomer
Jun 28, 2001 1:42 PM
But I like my modest system enough that I have not had any desire to upgrade my amps in 3 years, and my speakers for the last 5. I'm running a powerfull Marantz PM-68 intergrated stereo amp, Infinity RS2000.6 towers, a Marantz CC4000 feeding a Denon AVD2000 digital pre/pro. My two-channel set up does double-duty with HT. I'm using a Sony GA8ES A/V receiver as a center/surround amp, A/V switcher, and Pro-Logic processor for my VCRs. The rest...Panasonic DVD-RV80 (built-in DTS decoder), Pioneer PDR-509 CD recorder, a seldom use Denon DRM-650S cassette deck (Dolby S), JVC HRS-7600 S-VHS VCR, Hitachi FX-623 Hi Fi VHS VCR, Sony KV-27FS12 Wega TV, Infinity RS2000.3 for surrounds, Infinity CC3 center, Sima SCC Color Corrector (defeats Macrovision), and everything gets controlled by a Marantz RC2000 Mark II remote. I listen to music everyday but only watch 2 or 3 DVDs a month.
I Won't Bore You With Our Home A/V System...Mary
Jun 28, 2001 2:04 PM
My pride & joy is the 2-channel system -- located in my office/audio suite -- that I researched and put together with limited, non-audiophile funds:

-Rega 25 Turntable with Super Elys Cartridge
-LFD Mistral Integrated Amp
-LFD Mistral Phono Amp
-Arcam CD72 Player
-Pioneer PDR-609 CD Recorder/Player
-Coincident Technology Triumph Signature Speakers/Monitors

Not a major investment but pleasing to my ears!

M
I Won't Bore You With Our Home A/V System...francesc
Jun 29, 2001 12:40 AM
Hi Mary,

What's your opinion on the CD72??
I've been thinking about getting it lately, but everybody discourages me by saying that I'd better go for the CD92. But that's a lot of dough to me. I'd appreciate your comments, as you're both a Rega and British amp user like me.
TIA
Francesc
Arcam CD72Mary
Jun 29, 2001 2:46 AM
Francesc,

The Arcam CD72 is a dynamite CD player with a great imaging & soundstage reproduction. I considered the CD92 but didn't want to lay out the cash for it right now. The thing I love about this particular Arcam is that you can always upgrade it to the same specs as the CD92 (for the exact difference in cost between the CD72 & CD92). I originally purchased a NAD but didn't like the player. My dealer -- who never steers me wrong -- suggested the CD72 over the CD92 because of the upgrade feature (can you believe that a dealer would actually recommend the least expensive component?). He allowed me to return the NAD, and I took his advice. Have never looked back and the sound is so good, I haven't upgraded.

Good Luck!
Arcam CD72francesc
Jun 29, 2001 4:20 AM
Thanks for your reply Mary.

As you may have read in my other post in this thread, I recently got an Arcam Delta 270, a very old model. In spite of its age it was new (clearance stock from Spanish Arcam distributor), and the sound would put to shame many a recent player. But it is a tad aggressive sometimes (may be the high output).

Next monday I'm going to see the dealer I bought the Delta because he's clearing his stock of 180 gr. audiophile vinyl (can't wait!!!) and when I've seen your post I've thought that if your opinion on the 72 was good I might take the opportunity to ask him for a demo.

Thanks again.
re: Just curious...jamie
Jun 29, 2001 6:01 PM
Marantz 5.1 receiver with rc2000 & marantz ma 700 amps.
cambridge audio d500 cdp
senn 580 phones
n0rh 7.0 marble mains
norh 4.0 marble center
sony dvd
unity audio rear speakers...a bit overkill for rears ($1600 new) but they match the n0rh's quite well & I got em for $400
I'll use em for mains when I can afford an extra system
all kimber pbj interconnects
I'd like to replace everything but the speakers someday
& kimber 4tc speaker wire
Oh WTH, here goesDLD
Jun 30, 2001 10:52 PM
Thrown together over twenty years,

HT room,

Onkyo something or another DD receiver
JVC dual well cassette deck
Sony DVD player which used to have a HUGE lip synch problem
Sony something or another Hi Fi VHS VCR
Sony SL 1400 Beta Hi Fi VCR
NHT Super Ones
NHT Super Center
3D Accoustic rears
3D Accoustic 10" passive sub
KSW 12" Sub
Velodyne CT 100 Sub (yea , I like-a de bass-a)

Recording room

JVC P.O.S. RX 709v Receiver (the hotplate)
Onkyo DX Rd 511 Dual Tray CD Burner that I might marry if the State of Tx. would allow it
JVC XL V261 single tray CD player
Optonica Rp 7705 Turntable w/Shure V-15 Type III cartridge with a broken stylus awaiting Shure's replacement anyday now
JBL NS 38 speakers that I stole from Wards at going OOB sale
Nakamichi cassette deck in the garage awaiting Monday's garbage pickup
Under the couch, MA 6100 Int. Amp w/burned left output transistor (transformer?) that I WILL get fixed one day

NP, Chet Atkins Green Grass
 


Archive Home >> Rave Recordings(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ) >> Just curious...(19 posts)
 MtbREVIEW.com  RoadbikeREVIEW.com  OutdoorREVIEW.com
 PhotographyREVIEW.com  VideogameREVIEW.com  ComputingREVIEW.com
 AudioREVIEW.com  CarREVIEW.com  GolfREVIEW.com
Copyright ©1996-2008 All Rights Reserved.ConsumerREVIEW.com, a division of E-centives, Inc.