AudioREVIEW's Forum Archives - Vintage Gear


Archive Home >> Vintage Gear(1 2 ) >> BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410(18 posts)


BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410wolftownjeff
Jul 11, 2001 6:49 PM
PLEASE HELP, BOZAK E 300 / DYANCO STEREO 410

JUST GOT FROM DAD, GREW UP WITH THIS GEAR, DAD CANT HELP ME.

NEED TO REPLACE ALL SPEAKERS IN THE CABINET.? ONE, 12", AND 2,

2" TWEETERS IN THE SAME FRAME.

NEED TO KNOW WATTAGE OF AMP,?

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, JEFFREYHGREEN@HOTMAIL.COM



NEED TO KNOW WATTAGE OF AMP.?
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410PeteH
Jul 11, 2001 8:51 PM
Hi, Jeff,
The Dynaco should be a gem! Dynaco way back when used amp model numbers that were the sum of their wpc, so I would say the Stereo 410 is a BIG bruiser with 205 WRMS per channel. Dynaco was a great ol' brandname, and made excellent gear. Lot of their gear was originally sold as kits, but they did factory assemble gear, too. A cult favorite, there is a lot of Dynaco stuff sold on eBay and speciality places.
Bozak continues to be a high-end manufacturer of speakers. Their designs were often rather unique, to say the least. There are currently (7/11/01) two auctions on eBay, one for 4 Bozak tweeters (gave a tweeter model #, CRS), and one? woofer in another auction.
Excellent box, though, if y'want to desecrate it with other drivers.
Madisound could help with suggestions.
Gotta be some great history with that set-up! But I digress ...
good luck on replacements parts!
Pete
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410wolftownjeff
Jul 12, 2001 3:49 PM
THANKS PETE!! THERE WAS QUITE A HISTORY, MY SISTER HELPED ME PUSH ONE OF THE BOZAKS UPSTAIRS TO MY BED ROOM WHERE WE HOOKED IT UP TO MY HARMON KARDON 330B.

WHAT IS MADISOUND?

IT SOUNDS LIKE THE ORG. DRIVERS ARE TOO SMALL FOR THE AMP. IF I WANT TO PLAY LOUD?

THANKS SO MUCH!! JEFF JEFFREYHGREEN@HOT,MAIL.COM
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410brian levy
Jul 13, 2001 5:53 AM
Actually, Bozak exists no more. That is THE real Bozak company. R.T. Bozak production was one of the longer runs of the vintage speaker designed systems until Rudy's death. The company ceased operations in about 1992 and sold all assets including the inventory, manufacturing equipment, intellectual property and rights to the product model names to N.E.A.R. which produced the R.T. Bozak products on custom order until all the NOS inventory was sold. It also used the designs developed by Rudy in metal cone technology to produce its own line of speakers. N.E.A.R. did not make it and was absorbed by Bogen International which still produces a N.E.A.R. outdorr line of sepakers based upon Rudy's metal cone technology. A tribute to Rudy's little round metal outdoor speaker that shows up on eBay from time to time. N.E.A.R. made a mistake in that it did not purchase the "Bozak" name with the other assets. It was sold to the current Bozak company whose products bear no lineage to those wonderful R.T. Bozak products we love.
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410Brian Levy
Jul 12, 2001 6:51 AM
The Dyna should be from the mid 70s. This was the last try (with the 416) before folding its tent. The Bozak drivers are regularly found on eBay usually taken from systems. Make sure the units are the same since there were variants of each model. As for the tweeters, try to keep away from any that have exhibited the coating on the cone lifting. The coating is to dampen the metallic resonance of the cone and when lifted the tweeter can sound very different from one that has not been damaged and in can be shrill.

The drivers were designed for a max of 100 watts rms. The Dyna puts out more than that but I can not remember the actual rating. The Bozaks were not designed to go too far beyond the 100 watts b/c of the technology of the time. You may want to consider changing the amp. I use a set of 302s (has the same drivers plus a midrange) with a Fisher 500-C tube receiver with 35 watts and it mates well. I also have used them with a McIntosh MC250 (50 watts/) and a McIntosh MC2105 (105 watts/) The 2105 did not add anything over the 250 to the sound quality or average playing volume. The tube receiver seems to do better. I've also used a Dynaco SCA-35 (about 7 watts/) which also sounded excellent. Little loss of average listening volume.
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410wolftownjeff
Jul 12, 2001 3:55 PM
BRIAN THANK YOU FOR RESPONDING, I REALLY WANT TO USE THE AMP TO PLAY LOUD AND SINCE I MUST REPLACE ANY HOW WHAT DO YOU THINK WOULD BE GOOD REPLACEMENTS USING THE SAME CABINET?
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410brian levy
Jul 13, 2001 5:43 AM
I really have not idea what to recommend as a replacement driver. The cabinet is designed as an infinite baffle while most drivers today are designed for ported or acoustic suspension (or some variants)designs. The Bozaks will play load but do not need the power of the 410 which will blow them. It may be a better idea to sell the cabinets to someone wanting to put together a Bozak system. The brand does have a reasonable following. With the proceeds purchase a set of speakers more to you listening criteria. If you like LOUD, try a set of JBL 100, Klipsch (again watch power ratings - my Heresys are limited in specs to 100 watts and I suspect they'd fry with the 410 opened up).
re: speaker "power handling ratings"PeteH
Jul 13, 2001 1:59 PM
These are only VERY general guides for what to use with the speakers. Too LITTLE is generally more of a problem than "too much" power. When you have plenty of power available, the speakers (usually your EARS, long before!) will warn you that you're driving them too hard. With an underpowered amp, clipping can occur and kill a tweet or mid in an instant. There are websites devoted to speakers and speaker DIYs. Madisound is a company that specializes in the SIY speaker business, and would be a good resource.
By ALL means, KEEP the Dynaco!! Or, sell it to me for my bid price ;-)
About "power handling" claims: my main stereo system has over 600 watts RMS per channel. My big JBL speakers are "rated" for a 375 watt maximum input. At a mere 10 o'clock on the preamps volume control, the SPL is physical. The sound, however, is simply clean, controlled, and incredible. I have had small, 10-inch 3-ways hooked up too, and they played pretty dang loud and were never in danger of "blowing up". have fun, play with the ol' Bozaks, swap drivers, don't care what anyone says. Yeah, to get 'em back to original, that's the coolest thing to do, but "what the hey".
BTW, speakers are probably the most subjective aspect of the hobby.
Everyone's ears are different, and the only ears that mean anything are the ones on MY head!! ;-) For YOU, use your own ears, and NEVER give anyone the power to tell you that what you HEAR is not what you hear. OK?
Pete
re: speaker "power handling ratings"Brian Levy
Jul 13, 2001 2:46 PM
I will agree that a speaker driven by an amp with too little power has been touted as the biggest casue of speaker failure. However, it is also true with overpowering them. Coil wire is designed to handle X amount of current. When the rating is exceeded the wire will melt. Bozaks were designed when amps were generally low wattage by today's standards. Rmember I'm talking about 20-25 watts as being large with the likes of say the Marantz 9 and McIntosh 275 being in the superpower range at 70 and 75 watts respectively (well there was the McIntosh 3500 @ 350 watts but it post-dated the design). The technology was not geared to design around 200 watt amps. In only a few years with the intro of ss amps, 100 - 200 watts were superamps but not as scarce. Punching this power through the speaker will not necessarily drive the speaker into audioable distortion b/f the driver is toast. This is one reason starting in the 70s speakers lives generally were far shorter than only a few speaker generations earlier. Things like ferrofluid, vented magnets, etc. helped cure the problem with newer designs.

It is sad to see equipment misused and destroyed when it can never be replaced. Bozak drivers are becoming a scarce commodity with the current supply coming as a result of systems being dismantled.

I think the Dynaco is an interesting vintage amp and it should be used with a set of speakers designed to work well with it. The Bozak cabinets as previously stated are not designed to work with most drivers available and play as you might, it probably will be better money spent in looking at alternative speakers or speaker cabinets.
re: restoring the ol' BozaksPeteH
Jul 13, 2001 3:36 PM
Oh, I agree that restoring them would be best! Not Bozak drivers, but I often see Pioneer drivers on eBay from the late 60s early 70s CS infinite baffle systems that might work well in the Bozak cabinets. If the drivers are still IN the Bozak's Jeff has, he could pull 'em and get the model numbers, and check eBay, but better the websites and/or businesses on the web that specialize in classic speakers and the DIYer. Basslist is a great place to go (gotta join) and includes some names most of us would recognize as "simple" listers.
Y'know that pumpin' 5 watts continuous into an average speaker is quite loud.
We're giving some good pointers (all the responses for Jeff), but the fellow will need to do some seeking on the Web, too, IF he wants to save the Bozaks. Heck, some of the shops available online may be able to rebuild the drivers he has (if he is not in a location that has a dedicated speaker guru/rebuilder--I have a big woofer being rebuilt now, and I am NOT rushing the guy!!).
If I didn't make it clear that even when fiddlin' around (it is fun), one would never discard the original drivers, whatever their condition. I have more speaker systems than I can sometimes remember. Couple of 'em have their guts out on the table right now. A couple others are torn down, but have been moved to the back of the bus, so to speak, 'cause I got different ones to futz with, at least for a while till something else comes along.
Yes, I am a bit sui generis. I'm a single old guy, don't give squat about no decorating, collect books and stereo gear. Not much room for, what was it called? furniture. And nothing goes away, 'less I "loan" it to somebody (so far, just family members, and when I've asked for something back, I've replaced it with something else, plus a pair of speakers ;-)). It's just a constant "audition" of swapping my stuff around and trying the different configurations (a LOT of separates). The JBL's stay in place, they're just too big to move.
Just my ears to please.
But, remember I have been agreeing with everything you've said here.
I would keep the Dynaco AND the Bozaks, hey, hasn't cost him anything, and get some speakers for rockin' out hard slammin' bass (unless Jeff is into classical and high-brow jazz, I am, but I enjoy groups I don't even know their names I hear on the U's FM).
The point of a hobby is to have fun. Yes, I have fun.
Pete
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410daveod1
Jul 12, 2001 7:51 AM
The Dyna 410 is a stripped down Dyna st-400. IT has the same output section, same driver boards and the same power supply. It has no Dynaguard limiting or relay. The Dyna 410 is rated 200 wpc 20-20 at 8 ohms and 300 wpc into 4 ohms 20-20 k. They routinly exceed their specs by 50 watts or so. I use a 410 driving double Advents and the result is audio nirvana. The one mod I made to mine was upgrading the capacitors from the stock 10000 mfd to 69000 mfd. If this mod is performed the line fuse must be upgraded to 15 amp slow blow because the turn on current is so high. The amp is a gem.
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410wolftownjeff
Jul 12, 2001 4:00 PM
THANK YOU DAVE FOR RESPONDING!

I NEED TO TELL THE REST OF THE STORY AS I HAD NO IDEA YOU ALL KNEW SO MUCH!

THE PRE AMP IS A "ADVENT MODEL 300" AND IT CAME WITH A DYANCO EQUALIZER MODEL UNKNOW,

ANYTHOUGHTS/

THANKS AGIAN JEFF JEFFREYHGREEN@HOTMAIL.COM
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410daveod1
Jul 12, 2001 5:33 PM
Both of those pieces are excellent. Dynaco made only one eq, the se 10 I believe, and the Advent 300 has a fine phono section. Couple it with smooth cartridge like a Shure v15 and a fine vintage turntable such as the AR turntable and you will have a system that can reveal every nuance of sound on a LP record. I know nothing about the speakers except that they are very efficient. Good stuff
re: BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410wolftownjeff
Jul 12, 2001 5:44 PM
Thank you for responding! I had a AR turntable as a teenager, belt drive and a cue, heavey paltter. Will be using this system for FM and CD only,

maybe someday i will pull the lp.s out of the attic, jeff
Agree, with a caveatPeteH
Jul 13, 2001 2:06 PM
I love the classic AR turntable! But, especially in a "remote control" world, remember that it is completely manual! I would suggest a turntable with the auto-return, heresy perhaps, but so nice to have. I'll do everything else! :-)
Hey, Jeff, your dad didn't go to Kansas U, did he?
This system is beginning to ring bells!
"Far out, dude!"
Pete, now an old geezer that farts whenever I want to! (Yikes, sometimes when I'm not expecting it!)
Hey Jeffwolftownjeff
Jul 19, 2001 5:57 PM
hey john,

i like all music, but must admit rap is not a first choice.


classic rock, clapton, dance, areo smith, danny gatten, neil young, lewis armstrong, bb kign etc.,

loud enough to use my 200 watt. per channel amp and my bozak cabinets or replacement speakers.

budget open.

thanks. jeff
Agree, with a caveatwolftownjeff
Jul 19, 2001 5:50 PM
hey pete!! this site is so cool!
no he went nycu for free (he dident have any money)
elect.engeniner, built 1 dynaco preamp, tuner and 1 amp at a time but bought the bozaks ready, there had a cut out for a mid range but it was not there, the advent preamp/tuner later.

this is really fun , thanks jeff
THANK YOU ALL SO VERY MUCH FOR ALL THE INFORMATINwolftownjeff
Jul 19, 2001 6:05 PM
WHAT I WONDERFUL THING/PLACE WHERE WE CAN ALL SHARE OUR THOUGHTS

MUSIC IS WONDERFUL AT ANY VOLUME

JEFF
 


Archive Home >> Vintage Gear(1 2 ) >> BOZAK E - 300 / DYNACO STEREO 410(18 posts)